Back to News
Lazare Wins Porsche GT3 Cup Championship with Kelly-Moss Road and Race
September 19, 2016

Lazare Wins Porsche GT3 Cup Championship with Kelly-Moss Road and Race

VIDEO: Jesse Lazare, Champion

Austin, Texas (18 September  2016) — Kelly-Moss Road and Race driver Jesse Lazare raced through the sunset and into the record books on Friday evening at the Circuit of the Americas as he took a flag to flag victory to clinch the 2016 IMSA Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge presented by 11Yokohama

The team has competed in the category continuously since the championship’s inception in 2005, as the Madison-based organization has built on its success trophy by trophy.

The victory was the second of the weekend and
11th of the 2016 season for the young Montreal native as Kelly-Moss Road and Race continues to be synonymous with success in Porsche. The double-race Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge weekend at Circuit of race-05the Americas was staged as part of the big IMSA WeatherTech and FIA World Endurance Championship “Lone Star Le Mans” event.

Entering the Texas event with a win streak of four to his credit, Lazare opened the weekend with a run to victory on Thursday as his closest championship contender failed to make the podium.

Even knowing that a fifth place finish in Race 2 would secure the title, Lazare didn’t back down at the start of Friday’s race through a frantic opening lap. The Canadian once again emerged from the pack with the lead as the sun set and the race
moved into darkness.

After 45 minutes of green-flag racing, Lazare capped off his huge season with yet another victory to lock in another 16championship for Kelly-Moss.

“This is a great feeling because I didn’t do this by myself,” said Lazare. “There were so many factors that went into having an outcome like this.  Kelly-Moss—every crew member on the team has been just outstanding. I’ve been so fortunate to get to work with them the previous two years. I feel like I’ve come so far as a driver and I really hope to get to keep working with them to accomplish more. I can’t do it without my parents and the sponsors we have to help throughout these years. It’s been great,
this series has been amazing and I’m so excited to go to Road Atlanta and go have some more fun.”

jeff-stone-wife“We are really proud of Jesse, he’s done an outstanding job this year,” said Kelly-Moss Road and Race President Jeff Stone. “He’s turned into a grown up, and a pro-level driver. I’m so proud of him. This has been a very tough year for our team—our family. I want to say a special ‘thank you’ to my amazingly strong wife Ekram, her sister Mona who has been living and traveling with us while my wife has been battling cancer. For sure this championship is dedicated to Ekram and my brother and partner David Stone, who we lost last year.”

The team accomplishments stretch across championships from coast to coast year after year, but no matter what the programs
are, they all come down to people and relationships for Kelly-Moss Road and Race.

“I want to also thank Charissa Cobb she is our head of all logistics and hospitality and simply the best in the business, we couldn’t do what we do without her,” said Stone.  “As well, our dear old friends and sponsor the Whipples from Brey Krause, all our other drivers —Bryce and Russell Ward, Pat Laughlin, Dan Weyland, Mike Hedlund, Kurt Fazekus, Rene Robichaud, Nicole Robichaud, Frank Selldorff, Bill Peluchiwski, Paul Barnhart,
Wayne Ducote, David Ducote, Jake Eidson, Chris Wally, Jay Patel and team coaches Andrew Davis,
Jeroen Bleekemolen, Jaap VanLagen, Colin Thompson and Damien Faulkner.

“I would also like to thank Chiel Bos, who I consider to be the best engineer in the business and like a brother to me, my assistant race director Alex10 Stone for all his hard work and passion, Henk Budgen – the best damn car chief there is and again every single person in the Kelly-Moss Road and Race family both on the road and at home.”

A big thank you to everyone both on the road and back at the Kelly-Moss Road and Race shop:

Alex Stone
Andy Kilcoyne
Victoria Thomas
Charissa Cobb
Elizabeth Booth
Jan Sperry
Alex Pien
Steve Northrop
Ryan Kraemer
Ken Swan
Jason Martinko
Jason Walters
Mike Medearis
Nick Skrade
Jeff Ferguson
Jason Disch
Brandon Hurda
Jamison Blizard
George Cichon
Derek Schroeder
Nathan Smith
Brad Devries
Pete Devries
David Janquart
Donnie Leonard
Chiel Bos
Henk Budgen
Torsten vanHasteren
Nick Ruyle
Gary Page
Chris Muir
Timo Duncan
Matt Barbaree
Grant Barclay
Chris Nott

Kelly-Moss Road and Race 2016 IMSA Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge Season in Review:

Lazare’s Race winning stories:

Sebring 1

Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca


Road America



Mike Hedlund Feature:

Race Broadcasts:

Watkins Glen:
Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca:

Back to News