Back to News
A Home Track Weekend for Kelly-Moss at Road America
August 2, 2019

A Home Track Weekend for Kelly-Moss at Road America

Madison, Wisc. (2 August, 2019) – Kelly-Moss Road and Race will challenge Road America’s demanding 4.048-mile circuit during the IMSA Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge USA by Yokohama with a 7-car lineup.

For Kelly-Moss Road and Race, life on the road is part of the job description. Except for the time of year when the Kelly-Moss team gets to enjoy the benefits of their hard work and spend a weekend at their home track, Road America.

While a lot happens at the race-track, a large portion of racing success comes from the team working behind the scenes at the Kelly-Moss Road and Race shop. Although not every employee gets to travel race to race, they still have a hand in every car that hits the racetrack. So when the IMSA Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge USA by Yokohama comes to Road America, every employee gets to see their hard work in action. The best part? Kelly-Moss gives every employee a complimentary ticket to the races!

Kelly-Moss isn’t all racing, they use their track experience to create some of the most radical custom cars on the planet, too. If you’re heading to Road America, be sure to check out the custom cars Kelly-Moss has on display, like the Willy Safari 911!

This weekend, the tables will be turned as it’s the first time GT3 Cup Challenge Canada has visited Elkhart Lake, giving fans double their money’s worth as they share the stage with GT3 Cup Challenge USA. Additionally, this weekend’s Race 1 will mark the 200th GT3 Cup Challenge USA race since the series’ inception in 2005.

After coming out of a wildly successful weekend at Watkins Glen with 2 overall wins, 6 podium finishers and 1 hard charger award, the entire 7-car Kelly-Moss lineup is looking to continue that success. Roman De Angelis, who leads the championship standings for both GT3 Cup Challenge USA and Canada, is looking for another podium sweep at Road America. Alan Metni is on track to defend his 2018 Platinum Masters title and currently sits in the top spot in his class. Kurt Fazekas returns for his fourth year of GT3 Cup Challenge USA competition in the Gold Cup class and currently sits in second place. With the season coming to an end, Road America will set the stage for both individual class wins and the overall team win, which should make for some exciting racing!

The weekend gets underway for GT3 Cup Challenge on Friday with a pair of practices at 9:55 a.m. EDT / 8:55 a.m. CDT and 2:30 p.m. EDT / 1:30 p.m. CDT, with qualifying later that afternoon at 6:40 p.m. EDT / 5:40 p.m. CDT. Timing and scoring will be available at scoring.imsa.com. Race 1 is scheduled for Saturday at 12:30 p.m. EDT

 



Back to News